ACM Awards 2023


Jenna Tieskotter, Staff Writer

On Thursday, May 11, the 58th ACM Awards occurred. It was hosted by Dolly Parton and Garth Brooks. ACM stands for the Academy of Country Music, which was founded in 1964. The purpose of the academy is to connect fans and artists within the industry. The ACM organization is dedicated to promoting new artists, artists on the rise, and established stars. Now let’s take a look at the categories, nominees, and winners of the 2023 ACM Awards. 


The nominees for Entertainer of the Year included Carrie Underwood, Jason Aldean, Kane Brown, Chris Stapleton, Luke Combs, Miranda Lambert, and Morgan Wallen. The winner of this award was Chris Stapleton. The Nominees for Female Artist of the Year included Ashley McBryde, Carley Pearce, Lainey Wilson, Kelsea Ballerini, and Miranda Lambert. The winner of this award was Lainey Wilson. Chris Stapleton, Jordan Davis, Kane Brown, Morgan Wallen, and Luke Combs were all nominated for Male Artist of the Year. The winner was Morgan Wallen


Duo of the Year nominees included Brooks & Dun, Brothers Osborne, Dan + Shay, Maddie & Tay, and The War and Treaty.  Brothers Osborne won the award. Nominees for Group of the Year were Old Dominion, Lady A, Little Big Town, Midland, and Zac Brown Band. The winner was Old Dominion. Nominees for New Female Artist of the Year included Caitlyn Smith, Hailey Whitters, Megan Moroney, Morgan Wade, and Priscilla Block. Hailey Whitters took home the win.


Nominees for New Male Artist of the Year were Bailey Zimmerman, Dylan Scott, Ernest, Jackson Dean, Nate Smith, and Zach Bryan. The winner was Zach Bryan. Album of the Year nominees included Ashley McBryde–Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville, Luke Combs–Growin’ Up, Lainey Wilson–Bell Bottom Country, Jon Pardi–Mr. Saturday Night, Miranda Lambert– Palomino. The winner was Lainey Wilson with her album Bell Bottom Country.


 Nominees for Single of the Year included “She Had Me At Heads Carolina” by Cole Swindell, “Heart Like A Truck” by Lainey Wilson, “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” by Carley Pearce and Ashley McBryde, “Thank God” by Kane Brown (with Katelyn Brown), and “Til You Can’t” by Cody Johnson. In the end, “She Had Me At Heads Carolina” by Cole Swindell won. Song of the Year nominees included “Sand In My Boots” by Morgan Wallen, “Til You Can’t” by Cody Johnson, “She Had Me At Heads Carolina” by Cole Swindell, “Wait In The Truck” by HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson), and “You Should Probably Leave” by Chris Stapleton. The winner was “She Had Me At Heads Carolina” by Cole Swindell


There are many more categories and awards that can be viewed at, which is also where information in this article was found.